Main Content

Home
Self-Help

Work & Unemployment

Workers’ rights, discrimination, problems with hours and pay, unemployment, Family and Medical Leave (FMLA), criminal records.

Farmworker Rights

Safety first. If you are in danger, call 9-1-1 for the Police. Physical abuse by your spouse or partner is illegal. Your safety is most important. If you are frightened about something in your relationship, please call the National Domestic Violence Hotline at 1−800−799−SAFE (7233) or TTY 1−800−787−3224. You can call 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

The Families First Coronavirus Response Act contains several important paid leave provisions related to COVID-19.

Read this page to learn about laws that protect farmworkers, information about where to get legal help, and information about COVID-19, workers’ compensation, minimum wage, and federal farmworker protections.

Avoid all unnecessary events, travel, or interactions. Stay at home as much as you can. Wash hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds. Use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer if soap and water are not available. Always wear a cloth face mask. Cover your mouth and nose with a tissue or your sleeve when sneezing or coughing. Do not use your hands.

The federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. You must be paid at least $7.25 per hour. Even if you are paid on a piece rate basis, your hourly wages each week must average at least $7.25 per hour or your state’s minimum wage for agricultural workers. In Maine, Vermont and New Hampshire, the minimum wage for farmworkers is $7.25 per hour, the federal minimum wage. In some New England states, the minimum wage is higher.

There is a law in the United States called the Migrant and Seasonal Agricultural Worker Protection Act. This is a federal law that covers most farms and farmworkers (except those on H-2A visas).

If you have a fever or cough, you might have COVID-19. Most people have mild illness and are able to recover at home. Keep track of your symptoms. If you have one of the emergency warning signs (including trouble breathing), get medical attention right away. Call 9-1-1 if necessary and tell them you may have COVID-19

Are you going to court without a lawyer?

Represent
Practice going to court with our legal game.

Get help from 2-1-1

Dial 2-1-1 or go to 211ct.org for help with services in your community.

COVID-19: Get information about court access, work, benefits, housing, and more.
The Temporary Rental Housing Assistance Program (TRHAP) is open. Get information on the TRHAP website.
Statewide Legal Services of Connecticut is open to serve you! Call 1-800-453-3320 or apply for legal help online.
Are you having difficulty getting or keeping your health care? Tell us your story.

Farmworker Rights

Safety first. If you are in danger, call 9-1-1 for the Police. Physical abuse by your spouse or partner is illegal. Your safety is most important. If you are frightened about something in your relationship, please call the National Domestic Violence Hotline at 1−800−799−SAFE (7233) or TTY 1−800−787−3224. You can call 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

The Families First Coronavirus Response Act contains several important paid leave provisions related to COVID-19.

Read this page to learn about laws that protect farmworkers, information about where to get legal help, and information about COVID-19, workers’ compensation, minimum wage, and federal farmworker protections.

Avoid all unnecessary events, travel, or interactions. Stay at home as much as you can. Wash hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds. Use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer if soap and water are not available. Always wear a cloth face mask. Cover your mouth and nose with a tissue or your sleeve when sneezing or coughing. Do not use your hands.

The federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. You must be paid at least $7.25 per hour. Even if you are paid on a piece rate basis, your hourly wages each week must average at least $7.25 per hour or your state’s minimum wage for agricultural workers. In Maine, Vermont and New Hampshire, the minimum wage for farmworkers is $7.25 per hour, the federal minimum wage. In some New England states, the minimum wage is higher.

There is a law in the United States called the Migrant and Seasonal Agricultural Worker Protection Act. This is a federal law that covers most farms and farmworkers (except those on H-2A visas).

If you have a fever or cough, you might have COVID-19. Most people have mild illness and are able to recover at home. Keep track of your symptoms. If you have one of the emergency warning signs (including trouble breathing), get medical attention right away. Call 9-1-1 if necessary and tell them you may have COVID-19